School

You are hereSchool / Classes / 8th Grade

8th Grade


Teacher: Mary Beth Horner


    

 

Teacher: Mrs. Mary Beth Horner
Email Me: 8thgrade@stbasils.org

Washington D.C trip is Friday April 24  The bus is leaving St. Basil's at 6AM!!!! Be in the Church Parking lot by 5:45.  Students need a brown bag lunch with drink, and money for dinner.   We are expected to return around 7pm.

 

 Homework/Tests

Homework for: Wednesday April 22, 2015           

Advance math: p532 #7-15, a,b,c,, 17-20,21-29 odd p533 #3,5,7,9

Math: 11-3

Social Studies:  

Science:  Research planet

English/grammar:  wb pp 58-59

Religion:  

Literature:    finish chart for prose and poetry that we started in class

Writing:  

Spanish:   

other:    

7th Grade Language Arts: 

Dates for most tests are posted one week in advance. *Quizzes and spelling/Vocabulary tests are posted 2-3 days in advance. Tests and quizzes are sent home regularly for your review. Please sign and have your child return them within two days using their test folder.  *There may be an occasional un-announced pop quiz in some subjects.

Extra Credit  100 points are available in Language Arts using the 100 point Extra Credit reading  assignment

Upcoming Events

7th grade Confirmation; Sunday April 26; 5pm in Church

Washington D.C. Trip; Friday April 24; be in the parking lot by 5:45am

New York Trip; Wed. May 6; be in the parking lot by 6:45 AM

Final Home and School mtg. Thursday May 7; 7pm in the gym

Graduation Gowns should be back in school by Wednesday May 13

Ascension Thursday; no school Thursday May 14

school holiday; no school  Friday May 15

Teacher Faculty lunch; Sunday May 17 at Kimberton Fire Hall

May Crowning Tuesday May 19; 2pm in Church; dress-up clothes(postponed to Tuesday April 26)

Spring Concert Friday May 22; 1pm in gym

Monday May 25; Memorial Day no school

 

 

Goal

My goal, as the 8th grade teacher, is to prepare your child for high school. To achieve this, I hold him/her responsible for him/herself - the successes and the failures. We all learn from our mistakes as well as from things we do well; however, I want students to accept any consequences of their mistakes without placing blame on someone else.